Born in 1961, Irakli Samsonadze is a Georgian writer and playwright. In 1983 he graduated from the Journalism Department of Tbilisi State University. His first play At Midnight was published in the magazine Khelovneba (‘art’) in 1985. Irakli Samsonadze was an assistant editor of the almanac Dramaturgy from 1992 to 1996 and later was appointed as its editor-in-chief. In the late 1980s he worked at the film studio Georgian Film. Fifteen of his plays have been staged in theatres across Georgia. The author has received various awards for his prose and drama. Samsonadze performed on many foreign stages and his works have been translated and published in: Italy, Palombi Editore, 2015; Armenia, Antares, 2014. 


  • From Comedy to Tragedy with an Absurd Ticket, Intelekti Publishing, 2013
  • The Cushion, Publishing Arete, 2004, Intelekti Publishing, 2012
  • The Cloud Called Darinda, Intelekti Publishing, 2012
  • A Frightened Street, Intelekti Publishing, 2012
  • Leah’s Clock, Intelekti Publishing, 2011
  • Turkey’s Egg, Publishing Arete, 2010
  • The Suburb, Publishing Sani, 2003
  • Triptych, Publishing Merani, 2000


  • Literary award SABA 2013 in category the best short story collection for A Frightened Street
  • Historical-Literary Award of Georgia 'Davit Aghmashenebeli' 2010 for the play Abeshura – The Last Queen of Parnavazian Dynasty 
  • Prize of Mikheil Tumanishvili Foundation 2010 in category The New Georgian Play for Clinical Marriage
  • Literary award SABA 2005 in category the best play for Grandmother Mariam, or Traditional Georgian Supra
  • Georgian State Prize 2001 in the Field of Literature for Triptych

In case of using the information, please, indicate the source.